Advertisement

Fibroid Summit 2021


A virtual meeting to enhance dialog between women dealing with uterine fibroids, their advocates and basic and clinical scientists studying treatments for this common debilitating condition

Monday February 22, Tuesday February 23, 2021

1-3:30PM EST, 12-2:30PM CST, 11 AM-1:30PM MST, 10 AM-12:30PM PST

Co-Sponsored by The Fibroid Foundation and The Campion Fund

Monday February 22, 2021

1PM EST: Welcome from the Fibroid Foundation

Sateria Venable, Founder

1:10PM: Welcome from the Campion Fund

Phyllis Leppert. MD, PhD, President

1:20PM: Overview of the current understanding of the basic pathophysiology of uterine fibroids

Ayman Al-Hendy, MD, PhD

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

The University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois

1: 45PM Comments and Questions from all attendees

Leader: Phyllis Leppert

2:15PM: Short break:

2:30PM What have we learned about uterine fibroids from clinical practice and clinical studies?

Elizabeth A. Stewart, MD

Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Mayo Clinic, Rochester, Minnesota

2:55PM Comments and Questions from all attendees

Leader: Sateria Venable

3:25PM Short wrap up and brief presentation of what to expect on Tuesday

Phyllis Leppert and Sateria Venable

3:30PM Adjourn

Tuesday, February 23, 2021

12:30 PM EST, 11:30 AM CST, 10:30AM MST, 9:30AM PST

12:30PM Brief Welcome Back

Sateria Venable and Phyllis Leppert

12: 35PM: Treatment options: what have we learned from COMPARE UF?

Wanda Nicholson, MD, MPH, MBA

Professor of General Obstetrics and Gynecology

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC

1:00PM: Comments and Questions from all attendees

Leader: Phyllis Leppert

1:30PM: Future of Individualizing therapy

Sukhbir Sony Singh, MD

Professor of Obstetrics, Gynecology and Newborn Care

University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Canada

2:00PM Comments and Questions:

Leader: Sateria Venable

2:30PM: Short Break

2:45PM: Smart method to enhance direct drug delivery to uterine fibroid by injection

Darlene Taylor, PhD

Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry

North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC

3:00PM: Comments and Questions

Leader: Phyllis Leppert

3:10PM: Wrap Up

Comments about how scientists and women dealing with fibroids can collaborate I.e. development of women interesting in being participants in clinical trials, ways for women to be Involved in other aspects of treatment development and evaluation, advocacy for fibroids at Funding agencies, congress, state legislatures, interface with young scientists to get them to Consider uterine fibroid research, consulting with pharmaceutical companies, etc. Ways to Update women with interest in uterine fibroids by scientists, Future summit in say five years?

Phyllis Leppert and Sateria Venable

3:30PM: Adjourn

This meeting is jointly sponsored by the Campion Fund, who is responsible for the scientific presentations and by the Fibroid Foundation who is responsible for the discussion leaders.

When
February 22 ‐ February 23, 2021
Global
Venue
Virtual
Link

Advertisement

Hot topics